BREAKING: Scott Morrison is Australia’s new Prime Minister

He will become the country's 30th Prime Minister

Liberal Party treasurer Scott Morrison is now Australia’s new Prime Minister.

Following a rollercoaster leadership spill, Mr Morrison attracted 45 votes and will now be the country’s 30th Prime Minister.

The extraordinary result comes after Minister for Immigration Peter Dutton and Minister for Foreign Affairs Julie Bishop also competed for the top position.

Mr Dutton triggered the spill after he declared intention to force Malcolm Turnbull out of prime ministership.

Mr Morrison, a 50-year-old politician from the Division of Cook in NSW, began his political career in 2007.

He voted against a number of high-profile bills such as the same-sex marriage act.

Australia has now changed its Prime Minister a total of six times since 2007.

Related stories